These are a Few of My Favorite Things: My Top 3 Reasons to Love Social Media

Uncategorized

maria

 

1. Versatility

There are so many things people can do with social media! This one is obvious but there’s a reason it’s my all-time favorite. Because social media is so integrated into our daily lives and we all get stuck in our own routines it’s easy to forget how different our lives would be without it. You can use Facebook, Twitter, etc. to keep in touch with family members, to receive news, to make a living (which this blogger one day hopes to achieve), or any other number of cool and innovative purposes. The best part—the ways social media is used JUST KEEPS GROWING!

 2. Interactivity

I ABSOLUTELY LOVE that with new media people can easily and actively participate in conversations with news organizations. For example, you can Tweet events happening in your community and share them with news sources or respond to stories from you favorite news channel. Yes, it may cause some problems but ideally everyone can voice their opinions and participate in our increasingly post-broadcast world.

3. The Guilty Pleasure Factor

I admit, I have a weird affinity for all of Disney’s teen stars. Social media let’s me follow all the drama that if was in my non-virtual life would drive me crazy. We’ve all heard about some sort of celebrity Twitter fight or something equally ridiculous (check out these stunners…http://bit.ly/124GUdX ). Basically it’s like being part of a tabloid or a Real Housewives Reunion without having to personally deal with all the emotional baggage. Shallow? Perhaps, but hey, it’s my Twitter account and I’ll follow whoever I want.  The best part of the virtual cat-fights is that if I get sick of them I can ignore them!

There are literally HUNDREDS more reasons to love social media, share yours!

Leave a comment